Heimweh

Heimweh: Homesickness, nostalgia

I love autumn, I really do. The smell of cold that slowly enters the city, the bursts of surprising reds, yellows, and browns that colour the landscape. The season that offers me a change, a chance to lose myself – to find myself. Or at the very least: to offer me cozy nights in.

Rotterdam felt too good, so I didn’t want to leave. Berlin felt too empty when it hugged me with its dark autumnal night. I started to doubt what it really had to offer me.

And Rotterdam? Well, Rotterdam holds you – and all that you mean to me. I was too blind to see it when I fled the city in a hurry: home is where the heart is. A funny little truth that I found that night in your eyes, in your bed, in your room.

Now I’m lost to your lingering kisses on my body, and your words are spinning around in my head. You are like a fog clouding my days as a lovely light shade of grey, turning pink at the sound of your voice. And if this was the last of it, at least we had a beautiful goodbye.

Leave a Reply

